About Lunar New Year Festival

Lunar New Year Festival (LNYF) is a student-run organization at Washington University in St. Louis and the annual performance of the same name produced to celebrate the Lunar New Year and promote the awareness of different facets of Asian culture. The show, which is performed three times over two days at Edison Theatre in the Mallinckrodt Center on WashU's campus, is a completely student-run production involving students from various cultural groups on campus. At the same time, it allows WashU students to engage with multiple St. Louis communities by exploring Asian heritage from a traditional as well as a modern perspective.

Through exciting performances ranging from acting to dancing to martial arts, people of all backgrounds can enjoy and celebrate the Lunar New Year together at WashU. While LNYF makes its mark through the final production showcasing various facets of Asian culture, it hopes to make its mark as more than just another campus cultural show. LNYF seeks to leave a prolonged impact upon its viewers through our skit and philanthropy. In the skit, we seek to acknowledge and address important issues to the Asian American community that not only affect Asian Americans, but all people across the globe. Additionally, each year, LNYF chooses a different philanthropy to support to not only impact the WashU community, but the St. Louis community as well. This year we have chosen the philanthropy Kingdom House.


Doyle Lokitiyakul

Executive Director

Dawn Lum

Executive Director

Katherine Tsay

Director of Development

Jiyoon Kang

Director of Communications

Hannah Moon

Director of Performance

Bryan Lee

Corporate Sponsorship Chair

Griffin Xu

Corporate Sponsorship Chair

Sarah Chang

Fundraising Chair

Han Ju Seo

Philanthropy Chair

Jane Lee


Amanda Jung

Art Director

Annie Zhao

Multimedia Chair

Richard Ni

Internal Public Relations

Alice Hsu

External Public Relations

Lily Wu

Secretary & Webmaster

Sian Zhang

Co-Choreo Chair

Elly Sim

Co-Choreo Chair

David Yang

Technical Chair

Patrick Zhou

Spec Ops